HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(14,149)
Newbaby(31,709)
Pregnancy(3,184)
Toddler(13,397)
Changing(11,264)
Feeding(263)
Growing(992)
Me Time(312)
More Ideas(103)
Playing(221)
Sleeping(242)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Growing or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for A Potty Training Plan

A Potty Training Plan

Learn how to create a plan for potty training success that suits your family’s needs and beliefs, plus your parenting style.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for A Potty Training Plan
Review 1 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:March 22, 2015
Nice article about potty training. My son will be 3 the end of May and is about 90% potty trained. He first expressed interest last November. We read lots of books and I told stories while he was on the potty seat. He especially loved a colorful potty book that I purchased. At first he wanted to stand and pee like daddy (that was hard to break). He would only go pee and not number two. We tried taking after meals and he would not go. 5-10 minutes later he would say "mommy/daddy I went poop in my diaper." This went on for months. My husband and I were getting frustrated. We started giving stickers when he went. Then the end of Dec/January he went backwards and maybe went 1-2 times a day. It didn't help when my husband and I both work the normal 7-5 hours. Through this entire potty phase, we understood that be is only 2 1/2 and maybe he just isn't ready. The end of January early February he picked it up again. He went number 2 for the first time! It was a big celebration. We praised him and gave him a treat, in return made him feel extra special. We started a treasure box; every time he went number 2 on the toilet he got a small toy/treat. I recently introduced him to the pull-ups. I explained to him this is ONLY for big boys and he could not go potty or poop in the pull-up otherwise we had to throw it away. I also showed him big boy underwear. He's had the chance to wear these a few times around the house and he is aware this is the next big step. In conclusion, he has NOT had a poop in his diaper for over 2 weeks and almost every bathroom visit his pull up is dry, even at bedtime. My husband and I can not believe how it just clicked within the last few weeks. Its an amazing accomplishment and what the child needs is lots of praise and an optimistic attitude even when you feel frustrated. Good luck to every parent struggling though their child's next stepping stone.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:February 4, 2015
Stop and go. Its a work in progress. Be patient. And do not
Stop. Start on a weekend your home but stick to it. You can't be strict on it one day and not so much the next.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:January 25, 2015
I am a single mother of a 20 month old daughter. We spend a lot of time together and she HAS to accompany me on MY bathroom trips. For months I have had a potty chair located in the restroom and she would sit on it occasionally but has yet to make any progress. She now seems to be bothered by her diaper wetness immediately after it happens, which I read in another of Huggies articles is a sign that she is ready to potty train. I am so glad I read this article, I am now jotting down ideas for my "plan of action". She loves books so I am certainly going to include our reading time to be located in the bathroom! ;-) Thanks!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:December 18, 2014
It's good for me to keep in mind to be "fluid" in my child's potty training plan. I originally didn't think I needed a plan. She, unlike my first, started potty training herself! I thought, "this will be easy. I won't have to do anything." That wasn't exactly how things had turned out. We are still working on it. Me working with her (unlike how we approached the potty training with our first) on her interests in it has made all the difference in the world. She has made significant progress so far! This article provided a good skeleton outline for how to work with your child.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:October 10, 2014
Thanks for the tips! We didn't really have a plan with our son the first time we tried potty training. After reading this, I realize how important that is.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:September 16, 2014
my son does wonderful potty training with no diaper or undies on, for some reason it works especially after his nap.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:September 1, 2014
I plan to try the potty trained in 3 days method. We sre currenty potty training in the morning because he always has to go first thing in the morning.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:July 18, 2014
These are great ideas! i will definitely have to try some of them.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:July 13, 2014
My daughter has been doing really good about letting me know when she needs to potty while we are out but at home she doesn't. Any ideas?
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:July 11, 2014
These are very good ideas. I will try some of it. Hope it works.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:July 1, 2014
We attempted to potty train too early and it has been rough for all of us. I will have to remember the stickers and books trick for when we try again.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:July 1, 2014
Hello ,I have 2 years baby's so how I will do potty training to her
At home plz help me thanku
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:June 24, 2014
I have found it to be harder to potty train my 2 year old than it was training my daughter 10 years ago. I think girls catch on faster than boys, but my son is just not ready yet.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for A Potty Training Plan

Date:June 17, 2014
i think having a potty training plan is essential for both parent and child . It helps with the frustration you can experience trying to potty train .the article is helpful in that regard and i recommend every parent to implement a plan befor getting started
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.