HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(13,506)
Newbaby(30,268)
Changing(28,246)
Feeding(272)
Growing(377)
Me Time(521)
Playing(595)
Sleeping(224)
Pregnancy(3,043)
Toddler(12,709)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Me Time or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Pulling an all-nighter used to mean rocking the night away; you’re still rocking, all right—in a chair. And maybe feeling a wee bit tired. These moms’ stay-alert strategies will help you make it through the night—and day!
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Customer Reviews for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation
Review 1 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:February 26, 2013
I would console my baby every night by putting his pacifier in when we stirred throughout the night. But by almost 4mons. my husband and I let him cry it out one night and the next night he only whined for a little and by the third night he was sleeping through the night and well as taking nice naps when he was suppose to. We also notice a completely different change in his temperament, which people don't believe me because he was so smiley before too! Letting them cry it out when they are 3mons or older isn't a bad idea at all!
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:February 8, 2013
My sons gonna be 5 months. Everybody (family) tells me all the time he's used to the arms let him cry etc. But I tell them he's my son & I will do what I want. Yes my sons only way of sleeping is me rocking him to sleep & cosleeping. He does sleep longer & better instead of sleeping by himself.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:January 22, 2013
What a way to make parents feel guilty! Yes, all babies cry, some more than others, but telling parents they are hurting their babies by not going to them everytime they cry is ridiculous! I let my daughter cry at night. I will go to her and put her pacifier in but I won't pick her up. Night time is for sleeping, not for playing and at 6 months she is old enough to start learning that. I am responsive to her during the day and take care of all her needs. By letting her cry at night I am not destroying her trust in me, I am teaching her. You can teach your child to sleep and babies can learn! To suggest otherwise is just a way of blaming parents for any deficit in their child. And those statistics are bogus. There are no parameters mentioned, just generalized statistics which can be easily misrepresented and misinterpreted.
Parents should use their instincts but also not be afraid that they are "damaging" their children by the method they choose. Love your kids and provide for their needs - you are doing just fine.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mahmabear1
Posted February 8, 2013
But what if she gets hungry @ night & that's why she's crying. Do you @ least feed her.?
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:January 18, 2013
When my son was 3 months old, my Husband and I couldn't help but wonder if we were spoiling our baby. He couldn't fall asleep by himself and we coddled to his every cry. It didn't take long before we asked the doctor what to do to prevent him from being too spoiled. She informed us that no baby under 6 months can be called spoiled. They have needs, including feeling safe in parents' arms to fall asleep. They are crying because they don't know how to ask any other way, yet.
5people
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:January 10, 2013
co-sleeping? this article says nothing about how to do this safely. i find that strange. in any case, anyone else out there find themselves living on the couch with the baby all night surrounded by bottles, bibs, wipes and your phone? that's been my life for the last 4 weeks - but i wouldn't change that for anything.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:November 23, 2012
My mom and sister were telling me I was spoiling my almost 2 week old baby boy because a lot of the time he'd be fussy or crying unless someone (usually me) was holding him. Good to hear I'm not messing up :-)
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:October 29, 2012
So surprised to see this article endorse co-sleeping.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:October 22, 2012
I do like a lot brought up in this article... I've known parents who have let their babies cry endlessly & you can see the effect of that later in life. However, don't beat yourself up if you don't get to your baby right away every time, thats just not feasible, especially if baby isn't your first. Also, its a terrible idea to take a baby into your bed for sleeping! Its not safe at all! However, there are many alternative sleep beds that keep baby close, but also safe.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:October 10, 2012
if only we could teach sleep. it seems like the majority of sleep articles say that eventually they will sleep..
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:July 27, 2012
My dr told me that if you let you baby just cry when he needs something that it will teach your baby not to trust you. So that you should try and meet his needs within 3 mins so that they will build trust in you. Also that there is no such thing as spoiling a baby up to a year of age
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:July 10, 2012
When is it that they start differentiating between day and night?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:July 6, 2012
Overall a good article, HOWEVER I don't think parents should beat themselves up too much for occasionally leaving their baby to cry for more than a minute and a half. I know it has happened to me while I was in the bathroom and she woke up but I couldn't get to her immediately.
While it is impossible to spoil a newborn at some point a baby who learns the art of self soothing is going to make a far better adjusted adult that a baby who is never allowed to discover this skill for him or herself.
Don't think if you cannot make it to your child on the odd occasion within that minute and a half time frame of crying they are going to be damaged for life! So long as you don't make a habit of it. Trust your parental instincts.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:June 25, 2012
I do not believe in the "crying it out" method. I tried it. I let my baby cry for 15 minutes and it took me an hour and a half to calm her down. I believe in going with your motherly instincts and doing what you know your baby needs.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:April 24, 2012
i always wondered if that myth "leave them alone let them cry" was correct because when i try to use that it never works and takes me just s long to come him back down. i deffanetley found this article helpful.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:March 28, 2012
Loved this article, very helpful. I have read several baby books and each one has its chapter over sleep, and this article pretty much sumed all of those chapters up. Ive also never read anything really informative about the spoiling, so im glad I read this.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:March 11, 2012
Thank you for the reassurance that you can't teach a baby to sleep. That saves a lot of frustration of wondering if there's something we are doing or something we should do affecting our one month olds sleep cycle!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:February 16, 2012
this article was very helpful. i was starting to think i may have been spoiling my daughter by picking her up every time she cries. now i see that i am not.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:February 9, 2012
This article helped me understand why my son wants to sleep with me. Now if I can just get him on a decent time schedule to go to sleep evrything will be great.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:January 30, 2012
My son is 14 months old and still needs to be held and rocked to sleep. Thats a habbit I started and regret it. Dont get me wrong I loved the bonding but he should be sleeping on his own "self soothing" by now. I thought oh he'll grow out of it but he hasnt. Take it from me, keep your newborn awake when feeding, change their diaper, swaddle and lay down in their OWN bed. Trust me if you start that when they are born you wont be in the position I am in. My son doesnt even sleep through the night and if he were taught how to self soothe then he would be able to sleep through the night. Just because your baby is crying doesnt mean something is wrong, they may just be mad. Wait a few minutes and if it doesnt stop then go check on them.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for How to Deal with Sleep Deprivation

Date:December 22, 2011
Thank you for this article! I believe in not allowing the baby to cry for to long. My husband however, says that I spoil our son by attending to our son at the littlest wimper. I'm glad to read the research as I know babies sometimes just "cry" to cry and let go a bit. However, I breast feed our son and he was born at 34 weeks. I look at it that since he arrived early, he needs as much attention as he possibly can receive. While he is breast fed he did sleep in our bed in the middle using a "nester" it served as a barrier for him around his body and was ideal during those many night feedings. He is 3 months old now and when is sleeping is placed in his own cradle or pack n play. Mostly still awake with his pacifier (if he desires)so he can learn to soothe himself to sleep.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>