HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(12,356)
Newbaby(27,622)
Changing(25,768)
Feeding(238)
Growing(340)
Me Time(490)
Playing(551)
Sleeping(206)
Pregnancy(2,759)
Toddler(11,647)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Growing or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

What's the best way to care for a newborn's umbilical cord, and how long will it stay attached? One family physician offers her insights.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Customer Reviews for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There
Review 1 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:March 18, 2014
mommy2Raegan
i used alcohol on my babies cord. Her cord dried funny and i had to raise it to get alcohol around it. it was a really weird situation. her shirts kept getting caught on it causing her to get irritated and bleed! i was so happy when it finally fell off!!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:March 12, 2014
ooBonnieoo
My mother told me that I should use rubbing alcohol to make it dry faster, and I think I'm gonna try it! I didn't even think about the umbilical cord to be honest until my midwife told me to only bring a NB t-shirt and diapers for the baby to wear when he is born so it doesn't mess with the cord! So I found some cute baby shirts and am just gonna let it dry out the best I can.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:October 19, 2013
JasonAndAllyson
I just had my first baby about a month ago and the doctor and nursing staff told us not to put any thing on it and to keep it dry. My sons fell off in the first week and it looked good.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:March 23, 2013
Anonymous
Im a new mom i had no idea what to do with the cord just that it looks weird! I'm definitely going to try the rubbing alcohol maybe it'll fall off sooner!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:December 9, 2012
Rbreedlo
My midwife told us to leave the cord alone- let it dry and do not use alcohol to clean it- so I would recommend talking to your doctor about what to do. My son's fell off on day 5 after birth.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:December 9, 2012
ava2013
real helpful article. im gonna be a new mom and i had no idea the cord needed so much attention. im definitely taking notes!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:October 12, 2012
mommakristi2
This is a very insightful article. Thanks for sharing!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:August 2, 2012
mommyhancock
this article is very helpful im glad im taking care of it properly
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:May 6, 2012
MrsOrozco
I AM GOING TO BE A NEW MOMMY AND THIS INFO IS A GREAT HELP (:
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:March 14, 2012
Leininger1515
Well I enjoy the attention I get when I am pregnant because I get whatever I want and love being pampered it really helps you relax and feel good about your growing pregnant body.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:March 11, 2012
Anonymous
When i had my baby she was 7 weeks early, so she stayed in the nciu. Most parents like to keep their childs cord. I was not given the opportunity to do so. Just an informative tip, if your baby has to stay in the nciu make sure you make it very clear to the nurses of what you want and don't want. They will throw everything and anything away that you do not inform them about.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:February 22, 2012
MVHemdev
VERY INFORMATIVE FOR A NEW MOM. I HAVE BEEN READING ARTICLES HERE TO GET TO LEARN ON MANAGING MY NEW BORN!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:January 25, 2012
ZaiyaRain
WOW DIDNT KNOW THAT GOOD THANG I READ THIS THANKS SO MUCH HUGGIES...:)
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:November 10, 2011
jutrup
I'm really glad that I read this article it was very helpful
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:November 4, 2011
eyeeggman14
umbilical cords are gross but with this article i know more
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:August 20, 2011
Ckrause04
I think this article covered the basics very well. Ultimatly, always follow your dr's recomendations for care.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:August 10, 2011
fleck04
Like most advice on infant care, this too has changed in recent years. Now the hospital and clinics are telling us to skip the rubbing alcohol and it will actually fall off a day or two sooner. There is no harm in using it however. I actuallly used it one time to clean my son's navel out when it developed a nasty odor (normal I am told but still gross if you ask me!).
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:July 7, 2011
meowcat
love this article. it is very informing! wish i read earlier.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:June 23, 2011
CoraLeePlus3
my favorite bumper pros
feeling the baby move
never feeling alone
growing a new life
planning names
decorating a new nursery
lots of positive attention
great conversation starter
talking to the other kids about the baby
getting my belly rubbed ''roof roof''
glowing
having an excuse for extra weight hahah
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for We Cut The Cord So Why Is It Still There

Date:June 17, 2011
AmandaMyChelle
I've been reading recently and been told that now doctors recommend you NOT put alcohol on it, just to leave it alone and let it do it's thing naturally. Keep it dry and only sponge bath baby. They said if the stump gets dirty or something gets on it (from diaper changing, spit-up, etc.) to swab it with alcohol, but otherwise to completely leave it alone until it falls off on its own. So which is it? I'm confused!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>