HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Sleeping or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for The Great Cry It Out Debate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HUGGIES.

The Great Cry It Out Debate

Let your baby cry it out? Pick him up with every whimper? Let’s separate fact from fiction in the Great Cry-It-Out Debate.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Customer Reviews for The Great Cry It Out Debate
Review 1 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:January 22, 2013
wickedfaye
Me and my boyfriend started the cio method when our son was 4 months it worked great he only cried his self to sleep for 2 nights and then he understood when he was in his crib it was time to go to bed. We used key words like its night time, see you in the morning, bedtime, and for a nap we would say nap time. He is almost 9 months old and sleeps through the night i love the cio method.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:January 21, 2013
Anonymous
I find letting my baby cry really hard. I keep trying to let him cry to go to sleep but it's so difficult. I wish there was an easier way. But I'll have to give it another shot. Fingers crossed!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:December 29, 2012
Alw127
My son is nearing 3 months. He sleeps from 12 at night to 7-8 in the morning. I love that he sleeps through the night, but I would prefer for him to go to sleep at 10 wake up to eat at 5 and go back to sleep. He wakes from 7-8 and will eat and go back to sleep. I know I just need to push up his bedtime, but I'm having a difficult time doing so. Any suggestions?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:December 23, 2012
Mommy2592
I need help with my 14 month old, I am only 20 and still live with my mom (hopefully moving out soon with my fiancé) and I've heard it's best to let your baby cry, although every time I tried my mom barges into my room exclaiming what's wrong and is he ok. I always make sure he eats right during the day and has a clean diaper before bed, but he still wakes up atleast twice a night every night for his sippy cup. What can I do to help him sleep all night?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Mommy2592
Posted January 11, 2013
Thank you so much I will most certainly try this out. You give some great tips and help me to see where I can fix the habit cycle with my little one. I hope I can get it down in time before his little brother gets here. When you mentioned that if he falls asleep on his own for naps, it made sense to me that maybe I should just stop giving him his sippy at night and only comforting him with my voice should help him feel safe. Yes I am sure it will be hard to let him cry, especialy with my mom being so concerned everytime but I'll have to let her know like you said to compromise with me about how important it is for him at this age to be able to sleep through the night. I'll let you know how things turn out. :)
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
EricksonTwins
Posted January 6, 2013
I can empathize! My son didn't start sleeping through the night till he was 14 months old, while his twin sister started sleeping through the night at 5 months. He got to the point where he was waking every 45 minutes before I finally decided to let him cry it out, and it was really hard, and I wish I had gone about it a different way. There are nicer ways of letting a child cry it out. If your baby is able to go down for naps during the day, while still being awake, and put himself to sleep, you are in a good place to start from. If he can't do that, I would start there, because if he doesn't know how to go to sleep by himself during the day, he definitely won't be able to at night. If he goes to bed well fed, with a clean diaper, and is still waking up for a sippy cup, it could just be habit. Make sure you communicate your plan with your mom, and if he wakes up, try comforting him and see if that helps to break the sippy cycle. If you are going to let him cry it out, start with just a couple minutes, then go in and comfort him, then leave. Then give him 5 minutes, comfort him, tell him you love him but that it time to sleep, then leave. Go back in 10 minutes, then 20 minutes, 40 minutes, 60 minutes. Each time, comfort him but don't get him all the way asleep. It may take a couple nights, once he starts catching on, for it to stick, but by 14 months, YOU deserve a full night of sleep! Good luck Momma! Jo Frost (supernanny) has some really good tips on dealing with this kind of stuff, so try Goggling her to see if you can find some other info!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:October 14, 2012
marinewife2165
My son is 6 months. And has NEVER slept through the night!
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:October 10, 2012
Anonymous
My 9 month old still does not sleep through the night. He has done it twice..and not in a row. The article does say more than twice. When he wakes he will usually chug down an entire 6 oz bottle. I feel like he's hungry. I will not consider crying it out until he is eating well throughout the day. He usually gets so distracted playing, that he doesnt want to eat much. He is sleeping at longer stretches. Sometimes he will give out a cry and then settle himself back to sleep. Lately he goes to sleep on his own.. I'm hoping this helps him when he wakes up at night.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
destinnplus1
Posted January 15, 2013
My 2 yr old has always slept through the night but my 10 month old has been a little different if shes with my she sleeps threw the whole night but if shes in her crib she will cry forever and i have to pick her up i cant let her cry her self to sleep everyone says i need to but it seems so mean i just cant do it
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
kpaine1
Posted November 27, 2012
Totally agree! Mine goes to bed after a really good feed and bottle change, and then wakes once most nights for a feed. She also eats a six ounce bottle most times, and then promptly goes back to sleep without a fuss. Clearly she's hungry. She wakes happy and playful in the morning without crying, has her morning change and settles down for another feed before her play. Babies as old as six months and beyond can need night feeds, particularly if they are going through a growth spurt!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:September 12, 2012
emmaquel
I have shared a bed with my little one since she was born. We do have a crib but every attempt we've made to put her in it she has cried. I need some advice.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alannasandalexsmommy
Posted January 2, 2013
How old is your child? Mine is 6 months and once he started rolling/scooting I had to start puting him in his own bed at least until I went to sleep. We found a blanket he REALLY likes and he won't sleep without it now! But that is all we did, and it worked! a blanket, a paci and a small stuffed animal he is partial to. But... he does not sleep all night. he wakes quite often :( but he does sleep better when he is in the crib compared to when he is in bed with me.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:September 6, 2012
lin1105
I need help!! My 10 month old cries and cries when I put him in his crib at night! The "let them cry" does not work. I lay him back down and give him his pacifier and that does not work. I need my bed back and I want to break him out of this habit. Please, i need more advice!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Teggli
Posted September 23, 2012
I have had 3 kids and the most beautiful crib which ended up being just a beautiful piece in their rooms, they never liked the crib and the best thing you could do in my opinion you need to show them that their crib is a safe place somewhere they "want to be" not a giant cage we put them in at night, because in their eyes that's gotta be how they see it. So I think you should put him in there during the day when your working in there and let him get use to it. Then, (I know alot of people don't like it) but in my opinion it comes with having kids you just need to put them to bed at night rocking them laying with them whatever it takes for them to feel safe and when they are sound asleep try laying him down. But if he has to be with you in my opinion they may need that for now:-/ But don't worry my son is 8 now goes to bed no problem (has for quite awhile :) SO this to shall pass :)
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:August 16, 2012
SydneysMom1214
I have a 8 month old little girl. For the past week she has slept with me until I could afford a crib because she was out-growing her rocking bassinet. Well now that I have the crib she will not sleep in it. I've tried putting her to in their once she was asleep and it worked fine until she woke up. I had tried giving her a bottle and her pacifier but she didn't want either. She wanted to be picked up and rocked to sleep in my arms. Once she fell asleep again I did the same thing but that time she woke right back up screaming with her hands reached out to me. I have tried sitting her in there when she gets tired and cranky but she still cries. I have left her in there for a hour yesterday crying but she still wouldn't sleep until she was in my arms. What do I do?
She also wants to be held 24/7! She has to be in my arms all the time. Toys do not occupy her long enough to give me a break. I do not know what to do being this is my first child.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jennibelle83
Posted September 8, 2012
Try making the crib look like the bassinet as much as possible! This happened with my daughter, and I ended up buying white/off-white sheets, (flannel always - even in the summer since the other sheets get way too cold!), we use a "breathable bumper" (they're mesh and very thin, so there's no way baby could suffocate) in off-white. I bought such a cute bedding set and don't use it at all, lol.
Do you use a sound machine at night? My daughter loves the waves sounds and won't sleep without it! Make sure you get her into a regular routine if she's not already. We always do bath, book, bottle, (lights off) bed.
I admit, night time sleep is GREAT for us for the most part (she's 9 months now) but naps are my struggle. She won't sleep in her crib during the day at all, I always have to hold her. I noticed for night time sleep, if she wakes up when I put her in her bed, hold your hands firmly on her chest, and it mimics being against your chest.. do this for AS LONG AS IT TAKES until you see her movements completely stop. My daughter always wakes up when I put her down, but if I put my hands on her chest quickly, she closes her eyes and goes right to sleep. I strongly reccommend Elizabeth Pantley's "The No Cry Sleep Solution" if you're looking for no-cry advice! I plan on ordering "The No Cry Nap Solution" this week to fix our problem! Good luck!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:August 13, 2012
jlbedford
My daughter just started crying at night when going to bed and she is about to be a year old. I have been letting her cry it out but some nights she can go 2 hours at a time, so then i have to go get her so she doesnt wake up her sister. im hoping this passes because i cant hold her to sleep every night! i do and then when i lay her down she wakes right up. :(
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:July 8, 2012
maryann27
My baby has been sleeping through the night since he was 7 weeks old. Now he is 8 months old and still wants to be held before he takes a nap or sleeps through the night. I am a first time mom. when I try to lay him down to fall asleep by himself he cries and cries and I give in and hold him till he falls asleep. Once he is asleep he usually sleeps 10 to 12 hours. Suggestions please!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
letters2alice
Posted July 13, 2012
There really isn't anything wrong with holding your baby to sleep. Is this more of a problem for you?
When you are holding him to put him to sleep, right before he's completely out, when he is still aware of his surroundings, put him in his crib. Then if he cries, hold him, repeat until he gets used to being in his crib. Then when you eventually one day put him in his crib, he will fall asleep on his own.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:June 25, 2012
Sherene920
Crying it out does not work for my baby. She wont put herself back to sleep. Working on different types of sleep habbits to see if it helps.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:June 20, 2012
mdk6
my son is almost 8 moths and still has not slept thew the night...ive tried letting him cry himself back to sleep but after 45 minutes he dont stop crying...the only way he will go back to sleep is if i spend an hour rocking him, put him in his swing or i give him a bottle...i just dont know what to do any more...
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:May 29, 2012
Jcollins1225
MY CHILD IS 7 MONTHS AND HE'S BEEN SLEEPING THRU THE NIGHT SINCE HE WAS ABOUT FOUR MONTHS! IF HE WAKES UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT I KNOW ITS FOR A REASON OTHER THAN HUNGER!! I DEFINITELY GO IN THERE WITH NIGHT LIGHTS ON ONLY LOL!!!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:May 27, 2012
simplysweetari
My son is almost 8 months and wakes up in the middle of the night. He stops crying and goes back to sleep when I feed him. It's become a habit I'm trying to stop.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:April 25, 2012
tinyone
I have a 5 month old that still wakes up in the middle of the night. I cant let him cry it out because I have another roommate. I thought that it was really bad to get up with him when he cried at 4 in the morning but now I dont think that it is so bad.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:April 12, 2012
Janay1217
I have a 9mth and he wake up in the middle of the night and the only way for me to put him back to sleep is to lay him right under me and if he don't feel me he starts crying
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:March 28, 2012
Anonymous
With my older children 3, 6 & 8 I feel like the quicker I get up and see why their crying the better, I can get them right back to sleep before they fully wake up and since their older I know their up for a reason either a bad dream, needing to use the bathroom or not feeling well. My 8 month old shares a room with us so its easy to check on him right away and either feed or change him and hes great at night he goes right back to sleep some times I feel like he just needs to know mommys still there. I'm lucky to be a stay at home mom and I pride myself on being very hands on with my children meeting their needs as soon as possible (actual needs!) I think its made the bond strong between us I want them to know I'll always be there when they need me even if I'm tired and its 2am.
Of course all moms are different and have different ways of raising their children and I know letting them cry it out wont hurt them physically I just wonder if emotionally their hurt by you not comforting them when they need it?
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:February 9, 2012
Anonymous
It hurts to let your baby cry but when the baby gets old enough and you know the baby doesn't need anything or doesn't have a dirty diaper it okay to let them cry a little... but i don't think you should completely neglect your baby how i see other ppl do. I believe your baby also needs you to enjoy these very special moments even when they cry.. When they get older that crying will just be a memory you might wish you could live through once more so enjoy your baby & all you moms are doing a great job no matter how hard it is for you your doing your very best despite the tiredness so know that other moms know you great! =)
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Great Cry It Out Debate

Date:January 30, 2012
kgordon3206
During the past week, I've been putting my daughter to bed without me. She has cried herself to sleep, because she is so use to us going to sleep together. I've been weaning her off of me so that it can be an easier transition by her 1st birthday which is rapidly approaching. A few times though, I had to pick her up and sleep with her, because she would not stop crying. I was so exhausted, I just wanted peace and quietness so I could go to sleep.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>