HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(12,352)
Newbaby(27,615)
Changing(25,761)
Feeding(238)
Growing(340)
Me Time(490)
Playing(551)
Sleeping(206)
Pregnancy(2,759)
Toddler(11,641)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Feeding or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Top Tips For Breastfeeding

If you’ve never tried it before, it’s only natural to wonder how you’ll do with breastfeeding. Here are a few practical tips for beginners.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Customer Reviews for Top Tips For Breastfeeding
Review 1 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:January 7, 2014
MargaretMurphy
For my baby, I have a goal of making it to the 1 year mark without drying out. I know a nutritionist that said if you drink a ton of water, eat like you are pregnant, and take your prenatal pills after I have my baby I should be able to breast feed and not dry out before the third month is up. Reglin may help in the early stages and also there is an herbal tea that she tried to ensure she wouldn't run dry. So, I love this article and what the other mom's had to say because I really want to provide the best for my baby and not dry out or get discouraged.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:November 23, 2013
kt2021
ive been breastfeeding my lil girl for 4 mnths she latched on really quick(15 mins after delivery) its the best but alot of new parents need to understand its very demanding especially if the bby doesnt like the bottle like mine its stressful at times but if u can keep up with the demand i say go for it good luck mommies :)
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:October 20, 2013
ShawnRenee
30 minutes, wow I didn't know breastfeeding takes that long! I am still planning on doing it because I know it is the best.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:May 15, 2013
mramoutar
agreed. Breastfeeding is the best. My baby never latched. Everyone tried to talk me down on trying to feed him because I had to pump every two hours to keep u with him. He is nine months and im still going strong. Im very determined to feed him breast milk until his first year and maybe even beyond that. Hes never had a cold, ear infection, etc. I look like I never even had a baby and even I have not been sick since I gave birth to him. crazy coincidence maybe?
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:February 8, 2013
Mahmabear1
My baby has a lot of wet diapers not rarely solids. Is that bad.? He will go a few days without solids then our of nowhere he will & it will be a lot.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Nikkie1118
Posted March 16, 2013
Yes that is perfectly fine, I ask my doctor the same question n she say it was fine and that babies that are beening breastfeed can go from three to five days and not have a stool. Formula is thicker n makes babies go more than breastmilk As long as baby is gaining weight that is perfectly fine.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
Mrslicer
Posted March 7, 2013
My 3 month old has been the same way for about 3 weeks now. After speaking to my doctor, he said if the baby doesn't have a BM after 48 hours take a Qtip with vasaline and give him a little poke (about 1/4 of qtip in). I have done this twice and both times he goes within 1/2 hour, and boy does he go.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:January 4, 2013
ArianeOrr
I didn't think newborns would drink for half an hour!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:November 24, 2012
jayshmarie
when it comes to brest feeding, you should have that as your # 1 option for your baby. this will help it grow up to be a very healthy baby. children that have been brestfeed hardly get sick and are better academicly than those who were not brestfeed when they were babies.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:October 14, 2012
csandlin8812
Breastfeeding is a lot more work than I anticipated. My baby is 12 weeks today and it still can be troublesome. I have an issue with an over active let down, which mean my milk basically squirts my baby and chokes him when it lets down, also and overproduction. My son then, bites down with his gums to slow the flow, causing a VERY painful nipple (and he only does it on my right side). This issue is very frustrating, but like a lot of other woman have agreed, Breastfeeding is still the best. My son is healthy (has never gotten sick yet), it is free (my jaw dropped when seen the prices of formula), less to clean up (hello, you have enough to clean with dirty diapers, clothes, and spit-up) , and not to mention, the bond is UNBELIEVABLE. And even better yet, I have lost 30 lbs already! Luckily, pumping is an option for when my nipples are super sore, and any issues or questions I have, I have an amazing lactation consultant to help and guide me. If you do not have one, get one. I feel it has helped me with staying on track, and overcoming any breastfeeding obstacles so that I stick to it. I also am the kind of person who feels discouraged and that I am failing if things go wrong. This is not true. Many woman have issues, and as long as you stick to it, and try EVERY possibility to make it work, you are not a failure. Even if it doesn't work out in the end. I am lucky that I am a stay at home mom, because demand feeding is very time consuming. Like some of the other comments, I feel like I never get anything done. I literally blink, and its time to feed him again. You never really catch a break, because even if someone else feeds them, you still have to pump. I find this quite frustrating, but the number one thing to remember, is your baby is only a baby for a year. Enjoy this time, let the house an apartment go if you have to. Baby needs you, and the more time you put into them now, the better it will be later on. Even on days I get frustrated, I look down at this little perfect creature I have created, and know that I will do anything to provide the best for him. I hope this has helped any of you discouraged first time moms!
12people
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted March 7, 2013
So true! My baby boy is only 4 1/2 weeks now and I thank heaven he doesn't have any teeth yet, because he clamps down pretty hard on my right breast. It's so sore! It really has gotten discouraging already but it's nice to know there is someone else who has gone through the exact same. My home is also pretty messy at the moment too, and I'm so frustrated. My in-laws love to tell me I need to clean up when my baby sleeps, but I'm so exhausted most of the time I usually pick a few tasks to get done and then take a nap right along with my little guy. He generally eats every 3 hours (start to start) and is sometimes up for another hour after he finishes - so he'll eat 30 minutes, be up for an hour, then sleep for maybe an hour and a half and start all over.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:August 27, 2012
carm77love
My newborn is 2 weeks and 2 days old today. I'v been sitting here for 12 hours feeding him. He falls asleep i move him then he wakes up demanding to eat. I can't get a thing done and I feel bad for making him cry when I need to use the rest room. I gave him 4 oz of formula about 20 min ago and still not satisfied. Any help?
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
melissa609
Posted October 13, 2012
my son is the same way. it's like i have to keep my breast near him for him to be happy. it's been this way from day one. he is 2 months now and no change
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
DNAL25
Posted September 13, 2012
This is a little late, but my baby is doing practically the same thing now at 2 1/2 weeks. A nurse told us she is probably getting ready for her 3 week growth spurt and will make me feel like a grocery store for a while. She said it'll happen again at 6 weeks and then at 3 and 6 months too. The nurse practitioner also told me to pump when she's done eating and feed that to her next time she's hungry or wake her up when I'm done pumping to see if she'll eat it - that way I will keep producing more milk, and she can be sure to get the really nutritional breast milk.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
jlccurtis
Posted August 31, 2012
I have two boys.. one 2 1/2 and one four months... both very different eaters... due to how good of a "sucker" they are and other things. What they don't tell you is that the more formula feeds you do, the less milk YOU will make. Sounds like your little one may be a sleepy eater... like my older son was. Some tricks are to rub an ice cube or cold wash cloth over their toes, get them naked right before feeding (diaper change works too) and in between breasts. I would also suggest for you to see a lactation consultant. It's hard to find good ones, but I would try if I were you. Call the hospital where you delivered and see if they have one. They can weight your baby before and after you feed to see how much milk he/she is getting, and they can give you helpful tips as well... such as only let them latch with a WIDE open mouth and point your nipple to the ROOF of their mouth... not straight in.... this made ALL the difference in the world for me and my first son. I think your key will be to keep your little one awake as much as you can. You can also watch the baby's chin to see how well they are eating and how much milk - i.e. their chin will drop down and hold when your breast is letting down and they are taking BIG gulps. If they are just doing tiny little sucks - that is just the reflexive sucking not nutritive sucking. A GREAT resource is Jack Newman - just google him - he is amazing and has great videos and tips! Good luck! I will pray for you!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 10 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:August 2, 2012
kasm123
I have breast fed both my children and I truly believe there are many positives to breast feeding. With my first son I was able to stay home and I could feed more on demand for a year. One advice for new mothers is that the first few weeks you are establishing your milk supply so feed your child those first weeks every 2 hours for 15 minutes on each side. Even if there is no milk coming out the stimulation is prompting your breasts to produce more milk. This is the trickiest time. It can me emotionally and physically hard (painful). Stay constant. After those few first weeks I fed my boy more on demand.
With my girl I am having to go back to work after four months and with pumping you do have to stay on a schedule (because of work) and make sure to pump everyday. You can loose the amount of milk you produce after missing a few feeding for 2 days and it can take up to a month to regain your milk production.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nMatthews82
Posted September 26, 2012
One thing I have noticed is how rapidly my wifes mild tends to drop... Our son was choking on the milk from my wifes breast for a while we eventually gave up and have been exclusively pumping. I have noticed she is have=ing a more difficult time bringing her milk supply back up with the pump and our son refuses to latch on now for longer than two minutes.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:July 17, 2012
deebaby86
Patience is definately key with this. You cant just give up the first time it doesnt work thats for sure. It was painful in the beggining for about the first week. After i reassured myself that it was for the best of my child then i just stuck through it and sure enough my son is now 9 months and breastfeeding was definately one of my best decisions.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:July 6, 2012
priscilla0907
I had a lot of trouble at first, but with the help of a lactation consultant I found a solution to my problem... (flat nipples) a nipple shield! My baby had also gotten accustomed to bottle nipples since he couldn't latch on because of my anatomy, but he was able to take that shield without a problem.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
AshCortobTanTuck
Posted October 30, 2012
Nipple shield best invention for breastfeeding moms with nipple problems. I also have flat nipples and very large breast. My little guys has the tiniest mouth and has a very hard time latching on wo the shield. It works wonders! This is baby # 5 for me and the only one I have breastfed because I thought I couldn't, if I knew then. It feels great to be able to give my baby the best !
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
MamaSama
Posted August 26, 2012
I had the same problem with my left nipple. We also have the problem of my baby girl not openning her mouth! Even when she cries her mouth does not open very wide. She also has a bad habit of sucking on her tongue and bottom lip that stemmed from in-utero. The solution for us was a nipple shield as well. Now, she doesn't want to nurse without it, even though she could if she wanted too. With the shield on the milk just flows into her mouth. She also prefers the shield because she breaks the latch quite often, and it will stay in position unlike a fleshy breast. The good thing is that she has put on weight, and it is probably good that we have a shield because I have a very fast flow that she cannot keep up with sometimes. With the nipple shield she can break away and take a breath and latch back on, I just have to keep a bib or cloth under her face. Between nipple shields and breast pumps it makes it easy for almost any baby to recieve breastmilk. And Breast is Best! 8-)
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:July 5, 2012
kcpup24
I'm the first person in my family and the first of my friends to try breastfeeding. Thanks for all the helpful comments.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:June 28, 2012
Anonymous
Breastfeeding is definately worth it! There are SO many benefits to breastmilk. The list goes on and on... Not to mention how much money you save because breastmilk is FREE! After struggling with the latch for my first son I ended up pumping exclusively for 9+ mos. It was a TON of work pumping, making bottles, cleaning bottles, pumping again, storing milk, blah blah, blah. When I was pregnant with my 2nd I was determined to do a better job in the nursing category. These 2 books were AWESOME and I wish I had read them before having my 1st child. I highly recommend them to any pregnant mommy who wishes to nurse or any new mom struggling to get it right. Hope these books help! You can pick them up on Amazon for a pretty good price!
1. The Breastfeeding Mother's Guide to Making More Milk: Foreword by Martha Sears, RN by Diana West and Lisa Marasco
2. Breastfeeding Made Simple: Seven Natural Laws for Nursing Mothers by Nancy Mohrbacher IBCLC, Kathleen Kendall-Tackett PhD IBCLC and Jack Newman MD
Good luck to all you wonderful mommies out there! Happy Nursing!
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:June 26, 2012
Sherene920
Great Advise! A breast feeding pillow is great. I wouldn't know what do do without it. My baby nurses a lot better with it and we take it every where. Always get comfy mommy and before feeding, get a big glass of water before you sit down to nurse. You must stay hydrated!!
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:June 22, 2012
rcola84
Good advice. It's really nice to have a pillow when feeding. It really frees up my hands and makes my baby more comfortable. One thing the article didn't mention is having a good burp cloth (I use a cloth diaper) under your baby's head while nursing. Usually milk runs down the side of my son's cheek, where it gets aborbed by the burp cloth instead of the pillow or my pants. It's also nice to have one under him in case of spit up or if he pulls off suddenly. No one wants to get drenched during a feeding.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:June 22, 2012
kmfreeman
this sounds intimidating but im definitely going to try! The benefits are worth it all [:
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:June 2, 2012
Jasminsw
I agree with this article. I had difficulties breastfeeding my baby at first, after guidance from the nurse. everything seems natural now.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:May 27, 2012
lburroughs7
I have a two month old and she had a lot of trouble with breast feeding. She had trouble latching on but this does give important information about breastfeeding!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Top Tips For Breastfeeding

Date:May 17, 2012
ramschic28
I am very undecided about breastfeeding. I didn't do it with my first child, but i'm considering it with the second (due any day now). I'm worried I won't make enough milk to even make a difference(kind of runs in my family). Not sure what to do, want to try it but then again, I don't.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rcola84
Posted June 22, 2012
I don't think it would hurt to try. Breast milk is free. Also, you don't have to worry about preparing/washing bottles. However, if your baby isn't gaining enough weight, you could always supplement and/or switch to formula. Since you're already familar with bottle feeding, the transition would be pretty easy.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>