HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(13,615)
Newbaby(30,564)
Changing(28,524)
Feeding(277)
Growing(378)
Me Time(527)
Playing(600)
Sleeping(225)
Pregnancy(3,069)
Toddler(12,859)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Growing or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Gearing Up For Those First Baths

It's something you might not think about until you're forced to: How do you give a brand new baby a bath? But as long as you've got the right tools and the right touch, it should be fun for everybody.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Gearing Up For Those First Baths
Review 1 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:August 12, 2014
When my fiancé and I gave our son his first bath he cried for a moment. After he got in and settled in his tub he was fine. He loved every minute of the bath. When it came to getting him out he cried but that was because he was cold. We had everything set up before hand, so then we didn't have to run all around for it. He now gets a bath every couple days.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:March 18, 2014
As a young mother, i had no idea how i was going to handle giving a fragile little baby a bath! My fiancé seemed to be the stronger one of us! we took our "first bath pictures" rinsed her off real good and got her out fast. she didn't like it at first but now she loves it! we just have to let her know she is ok and help her feel comfortable with us there!!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:April 17, 2013
Will try bathing my baby for the first time this weekend. Article provided a good summary.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:March 23, 2013
This was very useful my daughters first bath at home was a major success! I found out too my baby loves baths!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:October 16, 2012
I think this is funny because my son hates the bath no matter what
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MaeBug08
Posted November 29, 2013
My 2 year old son used to be terrified of water, it didn't matter if it was a pool or the bathtub. Over the summer I bought him his own wading pool and let him figure out the whole getting in, getting out and playing thing, he is very independent! He was still scared though, until I put his younger cousins in the pool one day. He had a blast watching me pour water over their heads to help cool them off and he started doing it. Now he loves the water, even baths, but he still hates the whole have to use soap to get clean part. My theory is that he works very hard during the day to get dirty and he doesn't want to wash off all that hard work. The good news is at least I don't have a germaphobe and I don't have clean freak. We just try to make the soap part as quick as possible.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:September 25, 2012
I like most of what this article states but I've always been told to wait and wash the babies head last because it helps them to stay warmer longer? I don't know for sure.. this is just a thought.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:August 28, 2012
this is great advice and i will definitely use it when i give my child his first bath. Thanks for sharing
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:October 3, 2011
i was so scared to give my daughter her first bath. but now its just another part of our routine. she loves bath time
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:July 4, 2011
At first I was nervous to give my baby a bath. But after the first time or two, we both started to love bath time! Most babies like baths... but the first ones might be scary for both of you!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:January 20, 2011
Good advice is if you chose to use a baby tub. buy one that can be used as your baby grows. My baby can no longer use her tub b/c she can only lay down in it...and she's way too heavy now for me to balance her with one hand...lol
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:December 6, 2010
I also would think a kitchen sink is a little too big for a newborn. Regardless, good article with lots of info. I like the part about having everything ready for the bath before you start the process. You can't take your eye off of the baby for a second!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gearing Up For Those First Baths

Date:November 15, 2010
I've had 3 children with our 4th being on the way now. Wanted to remind myself about baby bathing. The article needs to add the statement -> you should wash "cleanest areas to dirtiest areas" in that order, not necessarily top to bottom of baby. Additionally, I have never put a brand new newborn in a sink bath. I would recommend saving that for a little later. Sponge bathing is first when the newborn comes home. Baby bathtub or laying on a towel in the bathtub is best for the second place, then when the baby is a little bit bigger, the sink can be used. I guess it would depend on what kind of sink you have and how big the wash area is - double sink, or single sink. We have 2 single sink spaces side by side. I think this would be very uncomfortable for new baby.
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.