HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(12,991)
Newbaby(29,066)
Changing(27,122)
Feeding(258)
Growing(362)
Me Time(503)
Playing(574)
Sleeping(218)
Pregnancy(2,887)
Toddler(12,226)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Feeding or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

The good news: Weaning doesn’t have to be a daunting task. Let's talk about the why, when, and how of transitioning from breastfeeding with the least amount of resistance from baby, and from you.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Customer Reviews for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier
Review 1 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:June 16, 2013
My son and I breasfed until he was 13months, when he sort of weaned himself. I was always thinking about how it would happen and when, and realized that it was me who wasn't ready to stop. We were down to one feeding a day and as much as I was thinking, it would be nice to be done, it was even nicer to have that time together. One day I realized, "oh my, it's been 3 or 4 days since he's nursed!" I didn't swell up, or have any emotional "issues" like I've heard of happening. Now he just tucks his hand between my breasts when he wants to feel that "comfort." So far it's cute! I couldn't be happier with how our nursing was, (don't get me wrong, it was terribly difficult at first!), and would most definitely nurse any other children I may have!
The binky-weaning part was the most helpful to me! He is already 14 months and is so attached to his binky, so the advice to limit his binky time to certain places if an excellent idea. And knowing that his teeth won't be too affected until age 4 makes me feel much better about knowing his teeth are coming in and that binky is attached to him!
Thank you Huggies writers for all the excellent tips, advice, articles!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:April 8, 2013
That's wonderful advice I will definitely try. I think giving him a cup in a month or two just might work for my son. My son will be 8 months in a week and I'm sick of the advice from friends and family because it usually ain't true (in my opinion). My husband's grandmother's advice when my son was going through his biting while nursing stage was to just give up and give him a bottle. Just cold turkey. I decided I would just try taking my breast from him and telling him no and giving it back to him. Eventually he got the picture when I stayed persistent. I don't want to exactly wean him just yet but my husband and I want to get pregnant again after my son turns a year and I want a break from nursing before I start it all over again with a new baby. So in a couple of months hopefully I can report our progress.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:January 10, 2013
I exclusively breastfeed and I'm almost sad at the thought of having to wean my daughter. She's eight months now and I don't plan on stopping any time soon even though she has a clear interest in solid foods. I do feed her things other then breast milk (usually what ever I'm eating at the time that she can have) but I don't think it would be enough to call it a meal. The day I stop breastfeeding really will be bittersweet.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:December 4, 2012
I guess I have a question and was wandering if someone knows the answer. I am in the process of weaning from nursing. She is 8 months old and I have weaned out two feedings. I give her baby cereal and baby food. Is it ok to give her regular milk with her food at this age?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alecncynthia2009
Posted February 13, 2013
i wouldnt offer anything other than breast milk or formula till your little one is 12 months old...doctors will say the same thing. it can cause allergies ...just like eggs and penuts its just safest to wait until after they turn one. its been a rule of thumb for me since my first child eleven years ago and im on my third lil angel now:)
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:November 29, 2012
I'm planning to go back to work soon and I'm having a hard time getting my daughter (almost 3 months) to take a bottle. In the beginning she wouldn't latch on to my breast so she was bottle fed but i was persistent with having her with breast milk. So i got her to breast feed. Now I feel as if i cant do anything without her because she wont take a bottle. Does anyone have any advice?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:September 15, 2012
my daughter, now 2 1/2 was a binky junkie and my goal was to get her off them by her 2nd birthday... this was accomplished by first not letting her walk around the house with it anymore, once we got through that battle i took it away at nap times and she only got it for bed time, finally after everything was the norm with that i took it away at night and completely got rid of ALL of them keeping 2 in a hidden place just in case... we had a few nights of waking up screaming but that didnt last more than a week. i now have a 2 month old son and she has absolutley no interest in binkies and says she too big for them.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:September 10, 2012
While everyone needs to make their own decisions on how long to breastfeed, the article should have really mentioned the current AAP and WHO recommendations.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:July 18, 2012
My son is 6 months, I thought he had to be one year old before introducing sippy cups. After reading that the UCSF said my child could be ready as soon as 6 months, I think I'll give it a try!!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:May 19, 2012
I am having the most hardiest time getting my 2 1/2 year old son of the Binky. He loves the dang thing so much, so i guess the article is right it is easier said then one =, so I guess i will have to think of some creative ideas to get him off cause nothign is working. Any ideas to helping me, to moms of Binky baby lovers?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:May 16, 2012
This is a great artical. Being a first time mom this is all new to me. Now I can start to put a plan together to prepare for this.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:May 15, 2012
my baby is 5 months but after reading this i have decided to wait till 9 months befor cutting her off
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:April 22, 2012
My son will be 11 months tomorrow and I still breastfeed. He's never been fond of pacifiers. He uses me as a human one instead. It's been difficult trying to wean him off of the breast, especially since he's gotten into the habit of using it for comfort and not just food. Since I work and attend school in the day, it has helped with limiting his feeding times to night time only, and during the day he eats solid foods and drinks water.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:February 11, 2012
I was hopeing this would give more insight on weening my little one.i have tried different ways of weening him but he just wont take but i need to ween for he is starting to clamp down and pull, which i think he is starting to teeth but he is only 4 1/2 months. I would be grateful for any advice.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iamurkarma
Posted June 5, 2012
My kids' pediatrician & the lactation nurse in their office suggested pushing baby's nose into the breast when they yank or bite, and once they release the nipple tell them no in a stern voice and set them down away from you, like in the crib or bouncy seat, almost like a time out. It has helped with my 3. :) good luck
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
nypdbaby
Posted March 21, 2012
You don't need to wean. He's still little and needs to nurse as much as possible. It sounds like he is distracted or bored. Try and find a quiet place if possible and when you notice he's stops actually eating (sucking and swallowing) removing him from the breast. If he wants more put him back on if he starts doing that again, remove him and possible switch sides. He's just "playing" Either he is done or the milk isn't flowing as fast and he's bored of waiting, that's why switching sometimes works LOL
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:February 1, 2012
I have found that if you cut the tip of the "BINKY" that will help wean them off...babies do not like the feeling of it anymore...
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:January 9, 2012
I need advice i am a new mom i have a 5 month old babygirl.. I breast fed my daughter up until her 2nd month i was really ill and had to stop. After I stopped i placed her on formula..However, since being breastfed she will not take a pacifier. I am afraid of her over eating. I have tried over 10 diff. pacifiers ...i am all out of ideas ..help please
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LDawson1226
Posted July 11, 2012
I breastfed my daughter for 13 months. She loved her binky, until about 9 months when she spit it out. She never took it again, even though I tried to get her to. Some kids wean themselves like mine did. Your baby most likely will not take to it if you've tried several. Try something else to soothe her. My daughter loved to snuggle.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
lacilace2008
Posted March 3, 2012
One thing you need to remember is that your baby is going to have a lot of growth spurts in the 1st year, so they will eat alot. As she gets mobile, she will start burning off those extra calories, and she will slim up from the baby fat. I wouldn't worry too much about the overeating just yet. I myself have a newborn that will be turning 2 months in a week, and I've had to had him on cereal since 3 weeks old, because he just wasn't getting enough from me and the formula. And he's growing at a good rate, hes not growing too fast or too slow, I have even talked with the Doctor about this, and they haven't said anything about me starting him that early, because he's not gaining weight too fast. If you are really concerned, at the next doctor appointment I would see what they say. Good Luck :)
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:January 7, 2012
I was against pacifiers until my son decided to suck his thumb. I thought, you can take a pacifier away you cant a thumb. However trying to get the pacifier away from him now has become quit challenging. We've limited him to just having it when he's in his crib going to sleep. Now how to take it further away and cut all ties with the pacifier is going to be more difficult then limiting him.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
stacy29
Posted February 1, 2012
try cutting the tip of the pacifier. they tend to not like the feeling of it after, and will altogether throw it out.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:December 16, 2011
Im just starting to wean my son.So far its been quiet challenging Ill have test out some of these tips, anything helps at this point. Hes a stubborn one lol
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:December 9, 2011
I was completely against using a pacifier with my first- until he arrived and thought he could eat more than his belly could hold. Pacifier was a life saver! (and a belly saver for baby!)
However, I didn't give it to him throughout the day just so he could have someting to suck on- I gave it to him only after he finished eating, to soothe him to sleep, or when he got fussy and was not hungry. I weaned him off by 6 months, by using the pacifier only when necessary- not to quiet his coos and squeals and noise! He never missed it! Glad I didn't have to try to take it away from a toddler!
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:December 6, 2011
Very helpful article, going to test to strategies.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weaning Breast To Bottle To Pacifier

Date:August 5, 2011
This has some good tips that I can try as I start weaning my son this month.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>