HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Feeding or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Picky Eaters

Picky Eaters

Parents’ ideas on how to break through to picky eaters.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Picky Eaters
Review 1 for Picky Eaters

Date:March 18, 2014
amamaa
I like the idea of not forcing your child to finish his plate when he is not hungry. This will help with healthy habits later in life.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Picky Eaters

Date:April 5, 2013
awdragon
My 19 month old is so picky that he wouldn't even eat snacks or dessert. His current diet consist of milk, yogurt, cheese, cabbage, pork (prepared 1 way only), and potato only. He will only eat pear occasionally. Giving him something new or sweet like ice-cream is challenging. However, after reading the article, I feel reassured that he is at least taking in the necessary nutrients.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Picky Eaters

Date:February 8, 2013
mommycastro
I have the toughest time getting my 18 month old toddler to eat! On top of that he always wants snacks instead of a meal. I explained my concerns to my nutritionist and she told me to try and put him on a schedule with a snack in between each meal. She also told me to give him more variety on his plate that way he can chose what he wants to eat and the quantity that he wants of each. I have found this extremely helpful and I’m getting him to eat more meals. (less of it is going on the floor!)
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Picky Eaters

Date:January 12, 2013
lizavel
very helpful article., i really have a hard time feeding my daughter., she's so picky and i can never keep her attention on eating
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Picky Eaters

Date:November 28, 2012
snowwhite1
Thanks for all the reminders. Staying calm is key and just relax with it. If you make eating "not fun," they will think of food that way too. Have fun while sitting down with them. Lots of laughs, and even sing songs (ones you know or make up your own.)
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Picky Eaters

Date:August 15, 2012
Nola616
this just helped me calm down. thank you for this! I've been super stressed about my little girl not wanting to eat much this past week...i know we just made a big move and all so i figured that had something to do with it, but its lasted so long i was nervous she wasnt getting all her nutrients. Thanks again for allowing me to finally sleep in peace again.....well sleep better than before lol
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Picky Eaters

Date:July 21, 2012
nettazig
I have a lot of trouble getting my son to eat most meats, especially if they aren't combined with something else, i.e shredded chicken, beef and noodles, etc. I'm not sure if it's just the texture of the meat by itself that he doesn't like or what, but I could use some advice. I've even tried cutting it into very small pieces so that it wouldn't have the usual meat "consistency", but he still won't touch it. HELP!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Picky Eaters

Date:July 17, 2012
pandami
helpful with some good ideas my son is being troublesome lately its nice to know im not the only one.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Picky Eaters

Date:January 7, 2012
laurab88
Not very helpful to me. I already do that stuff for my picky eater. If anyone has extra ideas I would love to hear them.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JennisMommy
Posted September 27, 2012
I AGREE. I THINK MY DAUGHTER IS THE PICKIEST IN THE WORLD. THE ONLY ONE TRICK U MIGHT USE IS RECORD WHAT HE DOES LIKE. HE PROBABLY ONLY EATS ONE FRUIT LIKE MY DAUGHTER DOES. ALWAYS PROVIDE THAT FRUIT AND MAYBE A NEW ONE. IF HE LIKES MILK, WELL THERE'S THE DAIRY. IF HE DOES NOT LIKE MEAT, TRY PEANUT BUTTER CUZ IT IS PROTEIN. MY NUTRITION PROFESSOR SAID THAT IF THE KID LIKES MASHED POTATOES, U CAN TRY MASHING SOME CAULIFLOWER. BREAD, CRACKERS,NOODLE OR RICE IS GRAINS AND U CAN ALWAYS SUBSTITUTE VEGETABLES WITH FRUITS WITH EQUAL AMOUNTS OF FIBER AND ETC. ALWAYS PROVIDE YOUR CHILD WITH SUBSTITUTIONS THAT HE WILL EAT EVEN IF ITS THE SAME EVERYDAY. UNFORTUNATELY MY DAUGHTER HARDLY EATS ANYTHING...HOPE IT HELPS!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Picky Eaters

Date:January 5, 2012
Valplus6
I will ask my picky 4 yr. old to take a "no thank you" bite of the unloved food. After a few weeks she will get used to the taste and start eating the food.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Picky Eaters

Date:December 7, 2011
mommycregger
Wow, very helpful. I had become quite frustrated with my toddler only wanting cereal for every meal but now I know if I don't make it such a big deal he may not make it one either. I will try some of these tips.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Picky Eaters

Date:December 5, 2011
Junglegym
I wouldn't say my daughter is a picky eater but she only wants chicken as her meat, she does great with her veggies (eats any kind) and great with fruit (again any kind) but her meat's she will not eat anything other than chicken.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Picky Eaters

Date:November 9, 2011
veteto
I am so glad that I read this article, My soon to be 2 yr. old started being very picky with what he eats. He also used to have a very good appetite and ate everything we gave him. Now he refuses to try ANYTHING new. He is stuck on hot dogs now for the last 3 weeks! He eats the same foods for about 2-3 weeks than he never wants it again and finds something else new to eat and repeats for weeks. I was getting a little worried since my first child didn't do this. I am starting to realize by reading articles like this and talking to other parents it is normal.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Picky Eaters

Date:September 14, 2011
tracepaper
I am desperate for advice. My son just turned 2 and he wont eat ANYTHING. Crackers or cereal, banannas (sometimes), melon, and apple juice. He used to eat the following:
Roast beef/ gravy, Mac and Cheese, pizza, fruit (almost any)
cheese (almost any), yogurt, salad, cereal bars, avocado, applesauce (now he only wants it if it comes in the super expensive pouches), mashed potatos, french fries...well, you get the picture.
He used to be a pretty diverse eater, and for the most part, it was quite healthy. He wont touch typical kid food, such as PBJ, mac and cheese, rice, cottage cheese, toast, grilled cheese, fish sticks, nuggets, burgers, etc.
So can anybody suggest a plan to get a 2 year old boy to eat when he doesnt want to? Over labor day he went all three days without eating anything! we thought hunger would drive him to eat, and we offered him MULTIPLE food choices, but he refused them all. Doc says hes healthy, but we pulling our hair out. Help!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
noahsarc0816
Posted June 5, 2012
my son does the exact same thing!! i tried to get him things with characters like spongebob mac n cheese (he loves spongebob) but he still doesnt eat it. and likewise the dr says he is healthy. like your son, he too will go for two or three days and not eat anything. he will take about four bites and then stop. i can usually get fruit down him, but nothing else
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Picky Eaters

Date:September 12, 2011
Phantomsangel204
I usually make the food sound fun, my daughter has had many feeding issues with allergies and such..so maintained nutricion from formula for 4 yrs and its now trying other ways to keep up weight. She will eat green beans for days and salad, when it comes to brussel sprouts, I let her know they are a baby lettuce and she thinks they are just so cute and calls them baby lettuce balls..and we put a little cheese on top for added dairy. Another way is Ill eat mine and talk it up that is sooo good and say i hope you do not want to try this because ill sneak it away from you(for the new things i am afraid she ill not try) then she will laugh and make sure I am watching when she trys a bite..sometimes she usually like sthe new food but if not ill try to serve it different aanother day. She is not picky and I think that its because she was not allowed so much of the foods most babies & toddlers have, so we expanded her choices early and because she was at one yrs eating things most kids wont..it just stuck and helped her to be food adventurous..tonight she had eggplant lasagnia, said I hate eggplant but when I offered her a bite of what was served lasagnia styl..she loved it and suddenly i do like that mommy, i just forgot lol. My tips would be introduce early and show then how good they taste , they will see your enjoying it..incourage them to pick out the food for dinner and with grocery shopping..She cannot wait to get home to try the fruit or veggies she hand picked out for food in home..makes it fun and instead of throwing something at them to eat that they do not even know what it looked like before being cut up and cooked, the 'help' mommy pick out and prepare really keeps the interest going to want to try these items then discuss at dinner how it tasted the same or different then you expected, which ones you like best. If they dont like something suggest trying it a different way on another night and praise they were brave to try new foods and are becoming great dinner helpers : )
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Picky Eaters

Date:September 11, 2011
MomC
My son is picky already at 14 months! I do agree with the article of watching his parents eat the same food as him it helps.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Picky Eaters

Date:August 15, 2011
jillianw13
very helpful, my son refuses to eat anything but chicken nuggets i usually bribe him with ice cream so he will eat his veggies
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Picky Eaters

Date:August 5, 2011
grandmema
My 2 yr old grandson is also a picky eater. Currently his favorite meal choice is ceral. He loves his juice, so I make sure to buy the fruitables which contain fruits and veggies. Also, I make sure to give him a chewable vitamin daily.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Picky Eaters

Date:November 16, 2010
blehe24
It is nice to know that although I cannot get my son to eat everything that I want him to that there is options, so that I can make sure that he is getting all the proper nutrition that he needs
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Picky Eaters

Date:November 12, 2010
Pastel
I'm glad to see that my 2 year old isn't the only one going through this. I was concerned about her limited eating but in retrospect, she does have small amounts of nutritious foods every day.
5people
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.