HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(13,006)
Newbaby(29,100)
Pregnancy(2,890)
Toddler(12,237)
Changing(10,259)
Feeding(245)
Growing(912)
Me Time(296)
Playing(213)
Sleeping(216)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Growing or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Ready to say bye-bye to the beloved binky? When you and your pediatrician think the time is right, here's how you can help your baby learn to be binky-less and happy.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Customer Reviews for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier
Review 1 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:August 1, 2014
I agree that each child, and each parent for that matter, is unique. It is very important for children to feel as secure in their life as possible. Some children have had things happen in their lives that prevents them from easily feeling a level of security that allows them to move away from a binky.
With our older one, we took the binky away when he appeared to not want it as often, within a week... he was sucking his thumb instead. THAT is not as easy of a habit to break. He just turned 3 and is still a thumb sucker.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:November 27, 2013
First of all I agree with the comment made by denomecourtney. 100% everyone is different and all kids are different we shouldn't judge others least of all about paci-use. Although sometimes I do look at a 4 yr old with the binky/paci in his mouth at the mall and wonder "what the Heck?!?" but I would never say anything to those parents. They know their kid I don't...end of story.
@ Aziboy- thats tough. You can't control what Dad does at his house or when you are not around. My advice is let it go and pick your battles. Eventually your kid will realize that Daddy and Mommy have different rules. But for now even though it's a pain cuz he asks for it all the time, just stick to what you want to do if that means not giving it to him and letting him melt down then do it. A few melt downs won't kill either of you. But if you can't deal then give him the bink and wait till he is older.
HERE ARE SOME GOOD TIPS..
I've gathered these from various sources...
1. Cut a hole in the top of the binky/paci. When there is a hole it the sucky part suction can't be reached so it's not as fun to have in the mouth so kids give up and stop trying to suck them.
2. Build-a-binky-bear. I work at Build-A-Bear and I've had some little ones come in to put their binky inside a bear. I typically stuff these bears very lighty so the kid can really feel the binky inside the bear. The kids seem very happy with their bear. They get a new toy and they still have their beloved binky but can't suck on it anymore.
3. The binky fairy. For older kids this works well. You start by explaining that there are only so many binkies in the world and when the stores run out of them new babies won't have any binky's. Luckily we have a binky fairy who comes and takes the binky from big kids and gives them to little babies in need of one. The binky fairy is so grateful for the binky that she/he leaves a new big kid toy in it's place.
You can do this one binky at a time or all at once.
5people
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:November 20, 2013
EVERY child is different. my daughter is 13 months and she uses her paci at nap time and bed time. She would love to have it constantly but i just stay strong and only allow it when she sleeps. I myself believe a child needs to feel secure when they are sleeping in their own room until they are around 2 to 2 and 1/2 years old. Saying that a having your child on a pacifier after 6 months is laziness parenting is very rude. Some people dont even give their children a paci until 6 months (commenting on the below comment). if your child is healthy, happy, developing in their own way then your doing it right. no doctor, mother, father, or scientist can tell you the exactly how and when it should be done. Every child and parent are unique in the own way.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:November 5, 2013
Every single on of my kids got off the pacifier before 6 months. I think a pacifier at a year old is pushing it and a pacifier at 2 years old is just pure ridiculous. Once they get teeth, the pacifier is bye bye and at one year, no more bottles. My kiddos may not like it the first day but by the second day, they don't even remember what a pacifier is. The first 3 years of a child's life is VERY important and it shouldn't be used to spoil but to teach.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:July 6, 2013
my daughter will be 17 months on the 13th of this month and shes a pacifier queen lol she has it all day long and im now willing to try and pull her away from it this article was helpful
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
meg37343
Posted April 27, 2014
My baby is too and she just turned 17 months its nice to know that I'm not the only one out there who didnt pull their child off right away. How did it work for you? What helpful hints would you give a beginner?
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:April 10, 2013
My son is almost 20 months. I took the nuk away when he was about 5 or 6 months old. He never gave me any problems or signals about wanting it at all, he was perfectly fine about it. I made sure to let his father know that i was not giving him the nuk anymore and that he needed to do the same. Well, just recently about a few months ago, i found out that he was getting the bink when he went to his dads house. I was not very happy about it. Now he is back on it and constantly wants it. Unless we are going in somewhere, i,e; grocery store, mall. He goes without it. Im trying the best that i can to break him away from it again but i'am having a real hard time. Its really stressing me out. I just feel like i don't know what to do anymore!... Anyone have any other suggestions? Or ideas?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:March 12, 2013
By a year, I had my son using his "teetees" (paci) only during times of distress. I tried weaning him and lessened the amount of time he would have it in his mouth, but he refused to let it go completely. At 13 months, he had gotten a bad cold and although he wanted his teetees at night, he wasn't able to use it since he was forced to breathe through his mouth because of his congestion and stuffed nose. A week later, he was fully recovered and had completely forgotten about his teetees! I immediately trashed all of them (or so I thought...) so he wouldn't be tempted to start up again. It wasn't until a few days later he had found one I didn't get a chance to throw away. He shoved it in his mouth, but I quickly snatched it from him and told him he was a big boy. I distracted him with some toys and later threw his last teetee in the trash later on. PHEW! What a relief...
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:March 1, 2013
My son got rid of his when he was 2on a trip to grandmas he asked fora few at random times when I thought he had forgotten about and he had 2 meltdowns other than he did very well I think 2 is a great age to get rid of it they are busy doing other things and don't have a lot of time to think about it and it helped that he wasn't allowed to have it a day school.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:January 16, 2013
So what tips do you recommend for weaning from bedtime use only?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:December 5, 2012
I've tried that and when I think I have all the binkies another one magically appears.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:December 5, 2012
My son only took it until he was about 8 months old then he weened himself to it after that. I wish he would take it, because he just wants to be latch on.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:November 15, 2012
I am glad to find out that what we are doing for the binky issue is right. We started using the binky less about 3 months ago during the day unless he has an accident or just will not stop crying. We are to a point where most of the time he only has it at nap and bedtime. We have not had to use it in the vehicle for a good 2 months now. It is nice to know we are doing something right.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:November 14, 2012
Helpful artical...But the best way to get rid of the pacifier is cold turkey. It is a miserable couple of days don't get me wrong!!! We went cold turkey on my almost 18 month old daughter she just loved her blankie a little more and she has been paci broke for a week. She cried a little more at bed time but after 2 days she never missed it! Good luck!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:July 31, 2012
I guess of one of the lucky moms, because my daughter is nine months; and she barely even want her pacifier only when she is sleepy. So I think it's going to be fairly easy to wing her off, or she might even wing herself off the paci.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:July 7, 2012
I keep my twins binkies in their cribs only for bed but almost ready to get rid of them! But I'm loving my sleep that Im finally getting so it's a tough choice!!!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:July 5, 2012
My daughter only uses hers when she is sleeping. But it is going to be a struggle to get rid of it at those times. I have given her a blanket and stuffed animal so I hope to transition over to just those.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:June 26, 2012
I Like This Article Because My Daughter Don't Really Like Her Pacifier Unless She Is Unhappy... &&nd She's Rarely Ever Unhappy. My Lil Girl Is 18 Months But When She Was 12 Months Old I Got Her Off The Bottle To A Silcone Cup And Now She Is On Hard Cup.. But The Problem Is Letting Go Of Her Pacifier But She Is Getting The Hang Of It. She Has Been Off It For A Week... After I Finish This Step My Next Will Be Focused On Potty Training
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:May 16, 2012
Thanks I thinks i put a time on it it ben so long now with out haveing a baby my other kids are teen now i wish they had this back then i read a page a day when she sleeping
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:May 12, 2012
Sesame Street has a great episode where baby curly bear is trying to get rid of her binky. I'm pretty sure it's called Binky Bye Bye. We watched it several times before we were ready to give up the binky. I don't think it was the "magic" answer but it helped get ready for it.
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pulling The Plug On The Pacifier

Date:April 24, 2012
I have 2 year old twins that both take a pacifier and I would love to get them off of them. They only get them at night and when they are upset. They are have blankets that they are attached to, what else can I use in leiu of the pacifier? I am going to use the Binky Fairy process, in which you put all teh binkys in a bag and leave it outside for the fairy to come ans get it and she leaves a special prize. I just need to know what to get for hte prize.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>