HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Changing or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Gearing Up To Go Potty

You’re eager to get them to the potty. But is it the right time? Here’s some expert advice on how to figure out if your child’s ready to tackle the toilet.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(1144 Reviews) 1144
Customer Reviews for Gearing Up To Go Potty
Review 1 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:April 14, 2014
JamieG2
I appreciate the pointers and the comments in the reviews. As with so many things regarding development, every baby is different. My daughter is 22 months, has been talking and doing all kinds of things early, but would not walk by herself until last month. While I hope she gets out of diapers soon, I definitely do not want to push her until she is ready. Thanks for the tips!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:April 11, 2014
grovecitymomof6
I found that closer to age 3 kids are ready to be potty trained. Try too early and you just stress everyone out.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:April 5, 2014
MLockwood
Number 6 is very important. Both my boys were late trainees. It took until they were 3 1/2. It was very frustrating at times. They were on their own page and it had to be when they decided, but once they got it, they got it!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:April 2, 2014
WISIDORO7
Ditching the diaper concept is a great idea to start showing my son.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 27, 2014
shante1987
I'm hoping to start potty training my second daughter this summer. This was a good refresher since I have had to potty train in 4 years.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 14, 2014
piglett56
Does anyone have any tips for potty training twins? we are not there yet as they are 13 months, but 'm already nervous. thanks :)
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 10, 2014
Blondiemama1
Potty training is individualized so don't compare your child with others. If the desire is not there, forget it. It's a great idea to take your child to the bathroom with you so they can "see how it's done." How do they know you don't "go in your pants" too? When you're out, let the child go with the same gender parent so they can see how big boys (or girls) are supposed to go potty; after all, children role model behavior.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 7, 2014
naylor
We introduce the concept at around 18 months, just so she would start getting used to the idea of the potty! Now at 28 months and we are almost 100% there - still have a few accidents but doing great - even tells us she has to go while driving down the road and usually can hold it till we stop!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 6, 2014
hv4boys1hdache
This is a very good article! Even for an experienced mother and grandmother, such as myself. We have children ages now, 28, 25, 21 and 19, thought we were done and all of a sudden, God blessed us with another one, who will be 2 years old on the 16th of March, so my husband and I are LITERALLY, starting all over, lol. Plus, I forgot to mention, 1 of our granddaughters is older than her "baby" uncle, she is now 4, then our other granddaughter is 3 months.
Anyhow, from my own personal experience, EACH CHILD is their own person and learns at their own pace. You may have a friend that has a baby a few months younger than yours and their baby is doing things that yours isn't, IT IS OKAY and it doesn't mean your baby is a slow learner or dumb. Personally, I think my 1st born was the HARDEST to potty train and that BOYS are HARDER than girls! With our 1st born we don't have the experience like we do, when we have our 2nd child. Another thing, from my own experience of having 4 boys and 1 girl, I think boys are much harder to train, since they are so stubborn, but that is my own opinion. My 1st born, which is a boy was very, very hard to potty train! He was almost 3 when I FINALLY got him to use both, #1 and #2 in the toilet. For whatever reason, he would do #1 in the potty, but WOULD NOT do #2. He would hide behind the curtains and do #2; he had a big, yellow Tonka truck he would do #2 in, but he would not go #2 in the potty, lol. On the other hand, my daughter, who is now 25, was the easiest out of all my children, to potty train. Then my 3rd child who is now 21, was easier than the first, but not as easy as my daughter. And then my 4th child who is now 19, was easier than the other boys, but again, not as easy as my daughter. HOWEVER, my baby now, will be 2 years old this month and we still haven't started potty training yet; after reading this article, I think he is about ready, but time will tell.
I responded to this article, because I thought it was very helpful, but also because, as a mommy, whether experienced or not, we need to know and remind ourselves not to compare our babies to other siblings or another child, because each child learns at their own pace. Just because my baby is almost 2 and hasn't started potty training yet, where 3 of my other 4 were potty trained by 18 months, doesn't mean he is going to be a slow learner.
We need to be patient, including myself and when they are ready, they will potty in the toilet and help mommy and daddy save a few more dollars, hahahaha! I'm just joking :) Good Luck to us all!!!!!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 3, 2014
buttercup83
My son is 21 months and everyone says I should start introducing the concept but I don't think he's ready. This was very helpful!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:March 3, 2014
Vansmom52212
This is a great article! I tink my son is on the verge of training, but not quit there as of yet.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:February 25, 2014
threejfamily
I didn't realize it is normal to take 8+ weeks. I will keep being patient and pottying on. One day it will happen...
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:February 20, 2014
JaxonVirgil
WE HAVE #1 DOWN BUT #2 IS A BIT TRICKY STILL...ANY ADVISE?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hv4boys1hdache
Posted March 6, 2014
Maybe while using the restroom (#2) allow him/her to be int he bathroom with you, so he/she sees you using the potty, then once you are finished, show him/her the #2 in the toilet and maybe make the comment, "See... mommy goes poo-poo (kaa-kaa, whatever word you use for #2) in the toilet like a big girl. That's where big girls/boys go poo-poo (whatever word you use) at, aren't you a big girl/boy?) Or depending on how old he/she is and if they know what "school" is, you can try saying, "Don't you want to go to school and play with the other kids? Well, if you want to go to school, you need to start going poo-poo in the toilet like the other kids, because only big girls and big boys that don't wear diapers or go potty in their pants go to school). I guess, basically what I'm trying to say is, "You know your child better than anyone and what your child is capable of understanding, then try to find something that is "exciting" or "fun" to your child and use it to your benefit in trying to teach him/her #2. On the other hand, from my own experience with 5 children...each child is different and learn at their own pace; where one child may be easier to train, the other one may be much more difficult. I think boys are harder to potty train than girls and also, I think the 1st child is a difficult one too.
All you can do now is be patient, lol. When the baby is comfortable and ready for #2, only then will he/she do it in the potty, but try using some reverse psychology, if it works, GREAT and if it doesn't, just continue to be patient, lol. Just remember, you are 1/2 way there. Good Luck!!!!!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:February 11, 2014
layah55
This helped in when I should start and what I should have prior and what to to expect during
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:February 10, 2014
dalia13
well I have 2yr old son and I have 2 older boys 12, 11 and they learn to go by aiming into colorful fruit loops so ill give it a try again good luck to all u moms n dads
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:February 7, 2014
mbdbaby1
This is a helpful article. I feel LOST at times, seems like we take two steps forward and then one step backwards...lol...day by day I guess! GOOD LUCK MOMMAS AND POPPAS!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:January 27, 2014
craziegirl77
My 2 1/2 year old loves to sit on the potty, flush, & wash her hands but still no tinkle or poopy in the potty! I hope it comes soon mommy wants a no more buying diapers raise :)
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:January 27, 2014
NBrusch
A very helpful article. New ideas which I can try to improve the potty training adventure.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:January 26, 2014
vsoge
I really need this. I have been dealing with a 3 1/2 year old who is unwilling to be potty trained. I have been feeling the pressure to get her potty trained for preschool and I think I have a little bit of encouragement.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gearing Up To Go Potty

Date:January 25, 2014
bergtholdt
My son is 2 1/2 and is using the big toilet all by himself! I was so shocked at first, he is actually very good at keeping in in the toilet.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 58 next>>