HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Sleeping or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HUGGIES.

Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Want your baby to sleep through the night? Curbing nighttime feeding could help make it happen.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Customer Reviews for Saying No To Midnight Snacking
Review 1 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:April 14, 2013
Jennah2
Well, My youngest is 1 and his Doctor said to switch out the formula with water and it should stop him for wanting milk and eventually he wont get up for it. That is a problem because he will either drink the milk or keep screaming till i get him milk. We can't wake the rest of the house. But sometimes he just wakes up and sucks on the nipple of the bottle and goes back to sleep. So now how do I break him of the bottle altogether. Our other son slept through the night at 3 months so we had no trouble with him. So, now what?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:January 26, 2013
Cuda3409
I have been trying this with my six month old daughter the last two weeks, each week decreasing the amount she eats at her night time feeding by an ounce. So far it is working and she has slept through the night one night out of the week both weeks. Keeping our fingers crossed!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:December 26, 2012
Lukeandzaksmom
my son is 6 months old and still wakes up around 4 or 5 times a night. he is breastfed and im not sure how to reduce his feedings because there isnt a set amount of milk he drinks. Im a mommy of two and im exhausted and need advice. i have started feeding cereal and some veggies and that has helped for the first few hours but after that he wakes up around every 2 hours
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mekcowms
Posted January 10, 2013
Hi. Have you tried pumping your milk & putting it in a bottle? That way you can measure exactly how much he is getting. I have 5 mo old twin girls & I usually give them their last feeding around 7pm & they go to bed between 8 & 9. I had to put them on a schedule fast & early!!!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
alannasandalexsmommy
Posted January 2, 2013
I really wish I knew as well! My son sleeps from 7pm-10pm then he is up almost every hour wanting to eat. He is breastfed. I get no sleep because my husband is not home to help and this has been going on for months!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:December 11, 2012
sfordcodysmom
how old are we talking about when we begin this. my little man is almost 5 months and he sometimes wakes up in the middle of the night and wants food. should i begin to try to start this now or later or should i have already started?? i dont like getting up in the middle of the night to feed him and he is formula feed. im just wondering im a first time mom and i have alot of things im still trying to figure out. :)
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:November 18, 2012
Annie0485
This article is helpful and is the best way to wean your baby off of a bottle/breast at night. It can be less than an ounce per bottle per week that you cut back on giving them but the important thing is to get them used to less food each time.After a couple weeks it should start to show. You can just focus on one night time feeding first too and then work on the second if they wake up for more than one feeding at night. And a bottle of warm water also might do the trick like others said, it just depends on your baby and how you feel. I personally wouldn't try this until my baby was at least starting solids, they start getting used to change in eating habits with that.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:November 3, 2012
pamr
I couldn't sleep myself knowing that i put my son to bed hungry. He eats when he feels like it and that's usually 3 times a day morning, noon and night, then if he's still hungry i'll give him a snack before bed. Not all children can handle having food before bed though, most of them have a snack and won't go to bed but if you really put the effort and time into it you could train them to not have accidents at night and to go straight to bed after brushing their teeth. My little hero does great and caught on real fast and i no longer have problems with him sleeping at night thanks to his nighty time snack. :)
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:October 10, 2012
Anonymous
While my 9 month old does not sleep through the night, I feel comfort in knowing one day he will.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:October 5, 2012
kayouavue
My baby kept on waking up at night to snack for less than 5 minutes. I like this article because it's short and straight to the point of how I can prepare my 4 months old baby to sleep throughout the night.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:September 17, 2012
Anonymous
I personally don't like this advice. I would feel like im starving my baby. If I wake up during the night extremely hungry, I'll eat a snack, so why would i say no to my baby. He can't get up and feed himself, he relies on me to take care of him and help him grow big and strong. Losing a little sleep is worth it to watch him grow happy and healthy.
5people
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:September 16, 2012
c2murph1
The warm bottle of water (or we even just did a sippy cup with water) suggested below really does work. I breastfed my now 18 month old until he was 11 months. Due to other health issues, he was in the 12 percentile for weight and required the extra feedings at night. Finally, when I stopped breastfeeding he started to sleep better. He is now 18 months old and unless he is teething or sick, he sleeps 8-10 hrs in a row. I feel it is important for every parent to do what they feel is right...if you feel your child needs a bottle or breast in the middle of the night...do what you feel is best!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:August 18, 2012
need4speed639
Well, reading the comments on this article I no longer think it's abnormal that my (almost) 10 month old still wakes up multiple times through the night. Most of the time I can get him back to sleep without a bottle, but sometimes there's just no getting around it! For those that bottle feed and are worried about tooth problems from eating at night, try giving them just warm water in their bottle. One day we will get to sleep through the night again!! :-)
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:July 27, 2012
Yazh
My child is 6 months now and still waking in night for feeding. I breastfeed her and she sleeps in 10 mins. I tried sending my husband to soothe her, but she doesn't sleep. And she don't accept pacifier. Any suggestions to make her sleep through the night?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:June 25, 2012
Sherene920
Just started cutting back on nighttime feedings. Hoping it will make a difference. My baby is 10 months old and still dose not sleep through the night.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:March 26, 2012
megjdg20010
My younger sister at 1st hated when i took my nefews cup away from him when he would stay the night here. Once i had explained why that it could cause tooth decay she was fine w/ it an started doing it at her house. Although now she is back to giving it to him bc she doesn't like to hear him cry how can I help she even gives him his binki on top of the cup????
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:March 8, 2012
jaydenmoma
My son is 6 months old and was 2months earily i give him, baby cearel to try to get him to sleep thro the night and it dosent work he still gets up every 3 hours
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:March 7, 2012
mamimissy03
My son is almost 9 months old weve been cut down to 2 oz bottles in the middle of the night for a bout 3 months now and its not helping at all!! he still wakes up 2-3 times in the middle of the night and sometimes a binky will work other times he wants a bottle and will not go back to sleep without it!! help mommy in NY needs her sleep back!!!! its getting ridiculous i thought by 9 months he would be sleeping through the night but no such luck, iv been trying this for a while and its not work any other tips?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Jessica2778
Posted May 6, 2012
We are having the same issue. My son just turned 8 months. He was doing great with sleeping through the night and not needing to eat until he got an ear infection. Now he will nurse at 8, go to bed, and want to nurse again at 11 and 2. It is crazy!!! We have a check up at the doctor tomorrow and hopefully can get some insight.
He also will not take a bottle and is starting to get interested in a sippy cup. Hopefully that will help!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
BarbieE6
Posted May 2, 2012
I have heard that giving them plain water in a bottle instead of milk helps. They decide that it is not worth it to wake for that. My son is still waking up every 3-4hrs and he is 8mo but I breastfeed and it is hard for him to understand why I wont feed him when he can smell milk on me and he cries till I let him nurse. I am not sure what to do. Sometimes I wish he used a bottle :-/
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:February 23, 2012
Anonymous
this did help me alot my baby sleeps like at 8 and wakes up at 12 to eat when he goes back to sleep nd wakes up he wants to eat nd hes 5 months nd hes weigth is 20 pouns the dr also told me to make him stop eatting kuz it migth get diavities nd hes to fat for his age witch is 5 months old.this article did help me to see what could happen to my baby if i keep giving him hes food at nigth thanxz
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:February 21, 2012
lizq24
My son is 14 months old andd sadly still wakes up 2-3 times at night. I have tried giving him one less ounce it doesn't work for me he just cries more and wakes up more. He was doing goodd at one point waking up once a night but then he went back to his old habbits. I have tried ignoring him when he sleeps but he won't stop crying til he gets abottle. I can't wait to be able to sleep throughout the night without him waking up. Does anyone have any advice or tips?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chrisse
Posted September 23, 2012
Same issue. My daughter is 15 months and maybe once or twice she's slept all night. I work all day, have a seven-year-old daughter and still wake 2 to 3 times a night for bottle feedings. I've tried ignoring her, but she'll wake the whole house. Tried water in bottle, she gets angry that I've attempted to "trick" her. I'm limiting her intake, only because she'll fall right to sleep now as soon as the bottle basically hits her lips. Pacifers only work once at night. I'm waiting , I guess for her to out grow it like her sister did.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:January 30, 2012
kgordon3206
If my daughter can simply eat enough during the day, I'm confident that she would sleep during the night. She is too old in my opinion to be waking up for a bottle.... she's almost 10 months! I am eager to get medical advice, because I have too many concerns. Can't wait to fully sleep through the night!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Saying No To Midnight Snacking

Date:January 25, 2012
missallykaye
I'm having a lot of problems with my six month old and sleeping. He stills wants to nurse on average at least twice a night, and I am not sure what to do about it. Most of the time when he wakes up, he will cry until I nurse him.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kgordon3206
Posted January 30, 2012
Have you tried feeding him cereal right before bed or even mixing your breast milk with fruit such as bananas to make him a smoothie? He may start sleeping through the night if he is full.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>