HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(13,112)
Newbaby(29,369)
Changing(27,407)
Feeding(261)
Growing(364)
Me Time(507)
Playing(580)
Sleeping(219)
Pregnancy(2,922)
Toddler(12,331)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Growing or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for How to Trim A Babys Nails

How to Trim A Babys Nails

Learn how to trim a baby’s nails and get other tips for new baby care from Huggies.com
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Customer Reviews for How to Trim A Babys Nails
Review 1 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:September 26, 2013
I thought this article was helpful, however, I've had no luck with baby nail files.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:September 6, 2013
I actually use clippers but this is my fifth baby so I am very careful. They do need to be taken care of. I hate to see the scratches.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:September 2, 2013
Thanks for the great tips I too didn't know baby files were different than regular files. Good thing the baby grooming kit came with some.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:June 18, 2013
Great tip on the nail file and I learn something new everytime I didnt know there were nail files especially for babies! I also didnt know that adult nail files were too rough! I will be picking up some infant nail files immediately!!!!!I guess its what I get for assuming it would be okay to use one of my nail files and I thought being a mother of four boys I knew it all.... LOL THANKS!!!!!! - mommy of four -
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:June 3, 2013
I never thought to keep the hands uncovered!! My 1st had mittens on FOREVER!!
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:January 24, 2013
i cant really complain about this because i got lucky with both of my girls they let me cut there nails and all they do is stare lol
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:January 7, 2013
My babu scratches ehrslef so bad but cutting her nails isnt easy, she is a light sleeper so i have to wake up in the middle of the night to do it LOL even though she sleep through night i dont
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:December 8, 2012
this article helped me so much... my baby has scratched himself about a dozen times, but i haven''t been sure how to clip his nails.
4people
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:October 5, 2012
thanks for the article..my baby kept on scratching himself so the tips help..it would be good also to know why baby scratch themselves too...
3people
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:August 19, 2012
the best method in cuttung my babys nails in while hes asleep, wont move and cant hurt him otherwise he would be moving to much..
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:March 5, 2012
my son loves to watch.. i prop him up on the bed and he watches and lets me do it..
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:January 18, 2012
Try and clip their nails after a bath. Their nails are softer and easier to clip.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:October 17, 2011
It is helpful to wait until my duaghter is asleep to clip her nails, but I don't think it's really necessary to clip her nails every couple of days. I usually clip her nails once a week. Thank you for the helpful hints.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:September 19, 2011
Sorry, I have to disagree with the baby nail file vs. clippers. My babies didn't do well with the file at all. They stayed still with me holding them on my lap & leaning back, then I could let them grab my finger and trim their nails. I agree with the not trimming often enough part, though. One day you pick them up and suddenly it feels like they grew claws overnight, then you realize 'oh yeah, it's been a week since I trimmed those'.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:September 7, 2011
I had a friend's mom tell me to skip the clippers till baby was a few months old and trim their nails by bitting the excess nail. It sounds weird but it totally works. Their nails are soft so you dont rip any thing extra, and its easier, because you can do it at any time without worrying about clipping to far. Afterwards you can just use a sanitary or baby wipe to clean their hands.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:September 3, 2011
My baby is three weeks old and I have only trimmed nails once, assuming that was enough yet seeing that they are rather long again, very helpful to hear that I should do it every few days...there is where our problem lies! We just arent doing it often enought, thanks again!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:August 20, 2011
I think the article had good advice about when to trim, but like the others could have really gone into the "how" a bit more.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:August 12, 2011
i think the article could have divulged more on how to correctly trim and file than suggesting doing it when the baby is sleepy. also, i've had conflicting opinions on the actual way to file; some say one side at a time others say do it back and forth.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:August 11, 2011
I wounded my baby when I cut her nails.. Fortunately she did not cried much. But I was so worried when I saw the blood. I am now afraid to trim her nails for fear of making the same mistake. i used a baby nail clipper but I guess I was trying so hard to trim it short.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for How to Trim A Babys Nails

Date:August 9, 2011
My little one is 7 months now and I dread trimming her nails. I found it easier when she was younger since she slept so often and didn't wake very easily (nice for us). Howver, now when I try to catch her drifting off to sleep or even asleep, she will startle awake when I try to trim. I have the clippers with the guard and have still cut her skin twice!! She never seems to be upset by it, but I am upset enough for the both of us. Either way, it's not a great experience for us as I have so much anxiety over cutting her skin. Here's to hoping it gets easier.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>