HUGGIES Ratings and Reviews
Baby(13,336)
Newbaby(29,913)
Pregnancy(3,003)
Toddler(12,521)
Changing(10,492)
Feeding(252)
Growing(936)
Me Time(301)
More Ideas(100)
Playing(216)
Sleeping(224)
Shop Now At HUGGIES
Shop Feeding or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Weaning Breastfeeding

Weaning Breastfeeding

5 tips from moms on weaning your kids.
Average Customer Rating:
0
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Customer Reviews for Weaning Breastfeeding
Review 1 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:October 13, 2014
I am currently taking the lead in letting my 13 month old self-wean. When I am home, I let her nurse a few times during the day and at bedtime. I'm a night-shifter and I pump at least once these days. These suggestions give me some ideas to work with. Thank you!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:May 10, 2014
Though I have not personally liked a single day of breastfeeding, I have been strictly providing breast milk for my 4-month-old son. For me, I have been anxious to quit this whole time, but I know my son is getting the best nutrition; and he really enjoys nursing. So, I feel sad about weaning him when the time comes only because I will miss providing him that joy. Am I just nuts?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:November 26, 2013
Patience, patience, patience. You need lots of it and remember that there are going to be days that are harder than others.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:June 23, 2013
When my son was first born I heard about late night car rides to soothe babies with colic but since I have begun the process of weaning I often pack us into the car at naptime and drive him to sleep. This may not be the best solution for everyone but doing this and finding other ways to get my little one to sleep without nursing has helped tremendously. I notice that he often still wakes in the night but instead of crying out and requiring my milk he just rolls over and soothes himself to sleep. I just wanted him to learn that he doesn't need breastmilk to go to sleep. Going great so far!
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:April 15, 2013
I get the whole taking one feeding out at a time thing but I still don't know how to get my son to take a sippy cup. He just chews on it and shows no other interest in it at all. It's just another toy to him. Even when I give it to him during an actual meal like peas and bananas. I don't know what to do. I nurse him much less now but instead of a sippy cup he gets baby food.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:April 3, 2013
Very helpful information! I will definitely use some of these techniques for my next baby.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:March 15, 2013
Oh, gosh, I need this kind of input. Right now, my one-year-old has decided he basically wants nothing but nursing. He's been avoiding self-feeding, but was fine with baby foods. After having a pretty dire cold, he's decided that neither baby food nor formula was good enough, and now all he wants is to nurse...about every hour on the hour. I'm visualizing his skipping his college dining plan because he'll STILL be surviving on breast milk!
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:February 23, 2013
my son is 17 months and just thinking ahead on how to wean. We arent ready yet but will be and these were great tips.
My biggest problem is nursing during the night. How do I stop that?
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:January 14, 2013
I am glad that I read this article. As it comes close to my son's first birthday I have been thinking about how weaning should and will happen. It was good to see such wonderful ideas.
2people
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:January 9, 2013
Very helpful to hear how other real moms did it. great
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:December 23, 2012
I liked this article because it was very knowledgeable on how to wean your little one. Although each technique was different, the main goal was achieved, happy stress free babies.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:December 13, 2012
This article was very helpful because it shows step by step how to feed for every stage
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:September 22, 2012
This article was helpful for the various ideas. My daughter is almost 12 months, and I am beginning the weaning process. At this point I worry if I can wean her...will she want to be? It looks like the key is a good substitution for the comfort period of breastfeeding.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:September 19, 2012
my son breastfeeds more out of comfort, and when he is sleepy. not just because he is hungry,because he will reject me if he's hungry!...he's 6mo. so i really don't want to wean him, but he is way to attached to me and i feel it is mostly because i am breastfeeding him...i have tried to give him a pacifier instead to sooth hisself but he rejects everything given to him. and its not like its an hour of a nurse, its just for like 30sec! anyone else have this problem?
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:August 10, 2012
my almost 10 month old eats 3 meals plus 2 snacks a day... she will still breast feed upwards of 6 times a day both sides. i need to stop or reduce soon as i will be returning to work in 2 months. she will scream if i dont give it to her and she hates bottles and formula? any other ideas out there? i do offer her a sippy of water everyday all day as well.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
sillykings
Posted September 18, 2012
O My goodness! I have the same problem. He only nurses 2-3 times a day and 2-3 times throughout the night. He refuses milk and formula, but takes juice and water in a sippy very well. I'm still trying and he cries when I refuse to breastfeed him. Ugh!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
kamesmah
Posted September 18, 2012
Hi! I breastfed my son from birth until last month and he's now 10 months old. He loved to breastfeed solely for the bonding and security it provided him. It was the hardest for him at night. He would sometimes use me as a pacifier even though he never has taken an actual pacifier. So, what I did to break him of this is once I got him down to one feeding at night before bed- he wouldn't sleep unless I did- is I had to have someone else feed him for me. A friend of mine had the same problem and her husband did the nightly feedings for her. Being a single mom I had my mother do it for me. If you are even around the baby he or she will know and will only want you. They can smell it and they want your security or anything else they gain from breastfeeding. After a few nights they become accustomed to the routine and you will be able to go on doing the feeding yourself and let your breasts dry up. Sometimes they just need something to replace the security they get from you in another way. It was harder on me than on my son I know for a fact. It is so hard to stop that bonding ritual you've enjoyed since the little angel was first born into your arms.. Good Luck to all of you!! Good Job for breast feeding in the first place! So many moms are afraid to or don't want to, but the benefits for baby and mom are huge, so much bigger than you or me. God Bless!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
emmaquel
Posted September 12, 2012
I have this same problem. I thought I was the only one. Did you only feed her from your breasts since birth? I had no choice because we didn't have a pump. Now she's attached. Everyone tells me it's time to quit but she's only 8 months.
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 16 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:July 23, 2012
something that worked for me is offering things like juices. I bought a cup that had a straw attached to it and just drank from it all the time. Being 8 months old my son began to be interested on what i was having, i bought him his own cup with a straw and he seems to always want it now.
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:May 27, 2012
My daughter will uses her bottle but this is good information to use when the time comes where i need to get her off.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:May 9, 2012
My 8 month old will not use a sippy cup or bottle for me but does fine with daddy and grammy.
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:April 11, 2012
my son is 7 months old now and has been on a sippy cup for 2 months already! i recommended starting early and using the sippy cups with the soft nipples first, then gradually move up! GOOD LUCK to all moms and dads as well
0people
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weaning Breastfeeding

Date:March 4, 2012
My son is 2 and a half and we can't wean him from his bottle. He uses it as a security and I just don't know what I should do. I mean we have tried everything. We tried just taking it away, he cried for all night and all day. I never thought a child could go 24 hours without sleeping but this little guy did. We have tried training cups, he just throws them. I just don't know. Any advice?
1person
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
shll1669
Posted October 13, 2012
you could always try using your cup a regular cup and see how he takes it since he sees you using one every day!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
ammannie2
Posted June 4, 2012
Perhaps try getting him attached to a new security item, a bear, blanket, etc. Slowly take away the bottle cutting back on when you give it to him. Do not put milk or juice in it. Only water. If milk and juice are only offered in a cup, the cup will become more appealing. Good luck to you!
0people
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
1 2 next>>